2007-2008 Season

Music of the Holidays

Saturday, December 8, 2007, 8pm
Sunday, December 9, 2007, 3pm

Church of St. Paul the Apostle

Thea Kano, Conductor
Rasaan Bourke
, organ
Rhea Walker, soprano
Samuel Bathrick
, percussion
Brian McKenna
, percussion

Ave Rex (A Carol Sequence), op. 45
William K. Mathias

  1. Ave Rex
  2. Alleluya, A New Work is Come on Hand
  3. There is No Rose of Such Virture
  4. Sir Christèmas
Ave Maria
Franz Biebl
Hodie Christus Natus Est
Francis Poulenc
from Quatre Motets pur le temps de Noël
Rejoice, O Virgin
Sergei Rachmaninoff
from All-Night Vigil

O Magnum Mysterium
Morten Lauridsen

Ding, Dong, Merrily on High
Stephen Paulus

A Christmas Triptych
Rasaan H. Bourke

Carol of the Bells
Peter J. Wilhousky

Lo, How a Rose E’er Blooming
arr. Bruce Saylor

Deck the Halls
arr. Hames McKelvy

arr. Barrington Brooks

Silent Night
arr. Rhonda Polay

O Holy Night
Adolphe Adam

Go Tell in on the Mountain
arr. Paul Sjolund

American Spirituals

Saturday, March 29, 2008, 8pm
Sunday, March 30, 2008, 3pm

Church of St. Paul the Apostle

Thea Kano, Conductor
Rasaan Bourke, assistant conductor
Tanya Gabrielian, piano
Elex Lee Vann, baritone
Rhea Walker, soprano

My Lord, What a Mornin’
arr. Harry T. Burleigh

The Passion of Martin Luther King
Nicolas Flagello

  1. Hosanna Filio David
  2. At the Center of Nonviolence
  3. Cor Jesu
  4. In thr Struggle
  5. Et Flagellis Subditum
  6. Death is Inevitable
  7. Stabat Mater
  8. We’ve Got Some Difficult Dats Ahead
  9. Finale

arr. Jack Halloran

I Know I’ve Been Changed
arr. Damon G. Dandridge

Ride on King Jesus
arr. Larry L. Flemming

You Can Tell the World
arr. Margaret Bond
Rhea Walker, soprano

Somtimes I Feel liek a Motherless Child
arr. Moses Hogan
Rhea Walker, soprano

Battle of Jericho
arr. Moses Hogan

Cert’nly Lawd
arr. Moses Hogan

I Want Jeasus to Walk With Me
arr. Moses Hogan

Elijah Rock
arr. Moses Hogan

Fauré Requiem

Saturday, May 17, 2008, 8pm
Sunday, May 18, 2008, 3-m

Church of St. Paul the Apostle

Thea Kano, Conductor
Rasaan Bourke, organ
Tere Preciado, sporano
Jonathan Winn, baritone
Frances Duffy, harp

From Quatre Motets sur des thèmes grégoriens, op. 10
Maurice Duruflé

  1. Ubi Caritas
  2. Tu es Petrus
  3. Tantum Ergo

René Vierne

Litanies á la Vierge Noire
Frances Poulenc

Symphony No. 1 Finale, op. 14
Louis Vierne

Requiem in D minor, op. 48
Gabriel Fauré

  1. Introit and Kyrie
  2. Offertory
  3. Sanctus
  4. Pie Jesu
  5. Agnus Dei
  6. Libra Me
  7. In Paradisum